when climbers fail at everyday tasks

i had to get my colorado driver license renewed the other day.  hard to believe that 5 years has passed since i first got it.  this means a lot of time wasted just sitting (or in this case standing) in a line waiting for hours just to get my picture taken, take a quick vision test, and answer a few questions (height, weight, etc.)  so everything is going according to plan, i’m wasting plenty of time in line, bored out of my skull.  somehow random people get to cut to the front of the line and all us schmucks are left to gape at them with a bit of rage and envy.  after about an hour i finally get to the counter.  i take my vision test (all is fine, as long as i have my glasses on) and answer the questions (5’7″, 135 lbs, yes i’m an organ donor, yes i’m registered to vote…).  next up is getting an electronic image of my fingerprint.  this is when the wheels fell off the bus.  they couldn’t get a usable image to save their lives.  they called over 2 managers to work on it, i held up the line for 20 minutes.  and you can’t leap frog over people, so the line just kept building up behind me.  the pads on my finertips are so worn off from climbing that i caused a big problem for them.  i always complain about the people at the dmv, but this time, it was me.  i’m a bit ashamed.


One response to “when climbers fail at everyday tasks

  • Corey

    Next time renew online. I did. I will tell you, my failure is the old finger prick at the doctor to check blood sugar. Ain’t gonna happen.

Leave a comment